Taking a defensive driving course online with printable certificate is the best way to ensure road safety. For you and other people as well. There are a lot of special classes you can choose from. Some of them are free, others are cheap. Then there are certain courses that need a hefty pay. We look at the best classes available for drivers from Texas, New York, Georgia, Florida, and other American states.
What is Defensive Driving?
Before you pick the best online driving class for you, you should know why it’s so important. Defensive driving courses teach you how to boost your driving know-how. You’ll learn how to lower driving risks foreseeing traffic situations.
When you take a defensive driving course, you’ll enjoy different benefits. If you receive a ticket from the police, you’ll lose few points from your driver’s license. Also, insurance rates will either decrease or get reduced for 3-5 years.
Can you take a defensive driving course online? Sure. A basic one is 4 hours long. Others take 6-8 hours to complete. There are 7 things you’ll learn during each of them:
- safety equipment;
- psychological factors;
- the dynamics of a crash;
- traffic crashes;
- crash prevention techniques;
- human factors – DUI;
- state traffic laws.
Now that you know what a free online defensive driving course is all about, let’s see some options. Apart from the 4 states we mentioned above, we also have classes for Oklahoma, NJ, Indiana, VA, and Delaware.
How Much Is a Defensive Driving Course Online?
From what we came across, the cheapest class was $24.95. The most expensive one needs you to dig up $29.95.
How to Sign up for Defensive Driving
First of all, you need to look for classes that are approved by the state you live in. If you’re from NY, the Safety Council there will help you with everything you need. Their defensive driving courses are approved by the New York DMV.
The steps you need to complete if you want to sign up are these:
- choose your state;
That’s it. You’ll then start the classes you picked and receive a certificate of completion.
Florida Defensive Driving
The online defensive driving classes are all approved by the Florida state. If you complete them and you have a ticket, points will be kept off your driver’s license. You’re eligible for 0 insurance increase as long as you didn’t receive said ticket after a car accident.
The fee is $16.00 and you can register online anytime you want. You have the possibility to sign up for their DVD courses if you prefer.
Once you’ve registered, you can choose whether you want to begin right away or later. When you’re done with the course, you’ll receive a certificate.
Delaware Defensive Driving
This online defensive driving course is approved by the state. It’s available 24/7 and you get a money back guarantee if you don’t like the classes. The basic and advanced versions are both $19.95.
After you register, you’ll get access to free audio. This is one of the easiest ways to receive precious information. Your insurance will be reduced by 10%-15% for 3 years. What’s more, your DMV driving record will have a 3-point credit.
Georgia Defensive Driving
One way to take a defensive driving class in Georgia is with GEICO. To do that, you need to have a policy rated for this state. If you take the courses, you’ll save up to 10% on applicable coverages.
The course has a discounted price of $19.95 and the sign-up process is easy. The discount is applied only in certain cases and you’ll find all the info at the link above.
Indiana Defensive Driving
This Indiana BMV approved online defensive driving course is $39.95. It’s one of the most expensive classes, but it comes with many benefits. You get a workbook course and an online variant. The driving simulations and text video footage are paired with interactive games.
You can download the workbook and keep it with you to practice. The website works with smartphones, tablets, and desktops. If you aren’t satisfied with the classes, they have a money back guarantee policy.
New Jersey Defensive Driving
The price of this course is $20 and you can register anytime you want. The classes are approved by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. On top of everything, you get a 10% annual insurance discount.
You can complete it in either 6 hours or as many as you want. You can choose between text and video courses and the site is mobile friendly. You can also use it if you have a tablet.
Oklahoma Defensive Driving
The course is offered in cooperation with the Oklahoma City Municipal Court System. A judge or court has to assign you to a driver improvement institution in your state.
The course is $24.95. The general public doesn’t have access to these defensive driving classes.
New York Defensive Driving
The New York Safety Council is one of your best options for defensive driving courses. They help with insurance money and take up to 4 points off the driver’s license. The classes are $24.95. Each of them is approved by the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Compared to other online driving lessons, the defensive driving course online NY doesn’t need a final exam. The point reduction policy works if tickets were received in the last 18 months. You can enjoy a 10% insurance reduction for 3 years.
Texas Defensive Driving
Their slogan is “Nobody dismisses more tickets in Texan than DefensiveDriving.com”. Their TEA approved classes are only $25 and they’ve been on the market since 2000. Reviews have been positive ever since then.
You can use both your tablet and smartphone to take the course in your free time. Begin the classes whenever you want and complete them in your own sweet time. If you want to learn via texts, the website offers this possibility. Should you prefer videos, go to their extensive library instead.
Virginia Defensive Driving
If you’re from Virginia and you’re looking for a cheap defensive driving course, this is it. You’ll pay $33.95 for the online classes which are approved by Virginia DMV. In case what you learn doesn’t get you anywhere, go for the money back guarantee. If you’re an AARP member, enjoy discounts on your auto insurance premium for up to 3 years.
You can log in from different mobile devices around the clock. The Virginia Driving School takes 5 points off your driver’s license. It will offer generous insurance discounts, too. You can complete the 8-hour course faster if you want. If you have questions, give them a call and they’ll provide helpful answers.
If you’re looking for the best defensive driving course online, you’ve come to the right place. We have 9 options for you. Some are affordable, others need a lot more money if you want to enroll. At the end, though, your driver’s license will have up to 5 points taken off. Insurance discounts apply, too.
Leave a Reply